Awardees of the IUPAC 2017 distinguished women in chemistry or chemical engineering

To celebrate International Women′s Day on the 8th March 2017, IUPAC was pleased to announce the awardees of the IUPAC 2017 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering:


This award aims to acknowledge and promote the work of women chemists and chemical engineers throughout the world. All awardees have been selected based on excellence in basic or applied research, distinguished accomplishments in teaching or education, or demonstrated leadership or managerial excellence in the chemical sciences.

The award ceremony will take place during the IUPAC World Chemistry Congress in São Paulo, Brazil in July, coinciding with a special symposium on Women in Chemistry.

We are delighted to announce that Professor Jihong Yu, an Associate Editor for Chemical Science, has been awarded this prize. Congratulations!

Professor Jihong Yu


Professor Yu is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Secretary-General of the International Zeolite Association (IZA) and in 2015 was officially elected as Academician by the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Professor Yu’s group’s research focuses on three main areas, including synthesis of new types of inorganic microporous materials, investigating new routes to the synthesis of inorganic microporous materials, and working toward the rational design and synthesis of inorganic microporous materials.


Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

Leave a Reply