New Advisory Board members for ES Nano

The Environmental Science: Nano team is very pleased to welcome two new researchers to our Advisory Board!

Dr Sara E. Mason

Dr. Sara E. Mason is an associate professor and the director of graduate studies in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Iowa, where she began her independent career in 2010. She leads a research group that uses theory and modeling to advance the molecular-level understanding of nanomaterials in the environment or under operational conditions. Dr Mason was previously one of ES:Nano’s Emerging Investigators.

Read Dr Mason’s most recent ES:Nano paper here.



Dr Giannis Mpourmpakis (Ioannis Bourmpakis)

Dr. Giannis Mpourmpakis is the Bicentennial Alumni Faculty Fellow, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh (USA) and a Guest Professor in the Department of Physics at Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden). He received his PhD from the Chemistry Department, at the University of Crete (Greece) and he was a Marie-Curie fellow and Senior Researcher in the Chemical Engineering Department, at the University of Delaware (USA). His research focuses on the first-principles-based multiscale modeling of nanomaterials for energy and environmental applications. He has received several awards, such as the National Science Foundation CAREER award (2017) and the 2019 Bodossaki Foundation Distinguished Young Scientist Prize. He has been highlighted as “Emerging Investigator” by the ACS Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data (2018) and as an emerging scholar in “Futures” by AIChE (2020). For his contributions to education, Prof. Mpourmpakis was awarded the 2016 James Pommersheim Award for Excellence in Teaching in Chemical Engineering by the University of Pittsburgh. He has been serving as the President of the Pittsburgh-Cleveland Catalysis Society and he has organized several scientific sessions at national and international meetings (AIChE, ACS, NACS, etc).

Please join us in warmly welcoming both Sarah and Ioannis to our Advisory Board!

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)