Nanosafety 2020 – Environmental Science: Nano Prize Winners

Environmental Science: Nano
was delighted to sponsor poster prizes at the Nanosafety 2020 virtual conference, which took place online from the 5th – 7th October 2020.

The ES: Nano Poster Prize was awarded to Steffen Gottschling (Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien) for his work on ‘Differences in experts’ and laypersons’ sourcing when reading about a scientific conflict in nanosafety: an eye-tracking study’.

“The poster presented results from an eye-tracking study comparing the use of source information between laypersons and experts when confronted with a scientific conflict in nanosafety,” says Steffen. “The results of the study suggest that experts show a higher level of attention to and use of source information compared to laypersons. Therefore, we argue that science communication should provide laypersons with easily accessible source information to encourage its use on a regular basis and science education should convey source evaluation as an important aspect of science literacy.”

The second place prize was awarded to Tim Spannbrucker (Leibniz-Institut für umweltmedizinische Forschung) for his work: ‘Repetitive exposure to carbon nanoparticles induce cell cycle arrest, senescence and loss of gap junctional communication in lung epithelial cells’.

Congratulations to both Steffen and Tim!

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)