Royal Society of Chemistry NMR Discussion Group – 8th Annual Postgraduate Meeting, University of Manchester

A conference report by Stephen Byard – NMR DG Secretary.

The annual NMR Discussion Group Postgraduate  Meeting  is  now  an established event and the 8th  meeting was hosted by the School of Chemistry, University of Manchester.  As always, the meeting provided an ideal forum for early career research workers to present their work in an informal environment, either orally or as a poster.    Established researchers, from both academia and industry, also attended the meeting as delegates.  A diverse range of topics was presented, covering all magnetic resonance related disciplines, including small molecule  characterisation,  solid-state NMR, imaging and molecular biology.

To complement presentations given by early career  research  workers,  overview  lectures  were  delivered  by  Professor  David Middleton (University of Lancaster) and Dr Mathias Nilsson (University of Manchester) on ‘Adventures in Biomolecular Design and Solid-State NMR’ and ‘Pure Shift NMR’ respectively.  The meeting was sponsored by Thermo Scientific and the Royal Society of Chemistry, and prizes were awarded for the best oral and poster presentations. Judging was carried out by three independent members of the NMR Discussion Group Committee.

Graphical Abstract
The prize for the best oral presentation was awarded to Davy Sinnaeve (Ghent University/University of Manchester), for his work on Ultrahigh resolution 1H – 1H coupling measurements, by Professor Gareth Morris  (NMR  DG Chairperson) and  Dr   Andrew   McLachlan  (Thermo Scientific).

<<< (Left to right: Professor Gareth Morris, Dr Andrew McLachlan and Dr Davy Sinnaeve)

The prize for the best poster presentation was  awarded to  Giulia Bignami (University of St Andrews) for Solid-state NMR Characterisation of 17O- and 29Si- enriched Zeolites by Professor Gareth Morris  and  Dr  Matt  Cude  (Analytical Methods, Royal Society of Chemistry).
(Left to  right: Professor  Gareth  Morris, Dr Matt Cude and Giulia Bignami) >>>
Both prize winners have been invited to make oral presentations at a joint Anglo- German NMR Discussion Group meeting which will be held at the Technische Universität Darmstadt in September 2015.

The 9th NMR Discussion Group Postgraduate Meeting will be held at the University of Oxford in June 2016, and details of all NMR DG events are made available on our website

Stephen Byard – NMR DG Secretary.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)