Winners of the 2023 EES Lectureship: Dr Hanna Breunig and Prof Dongliang Chao

We are delighted to announce that the 2023 EES Lectureship has been jointly awarded to Dr Hanna Breunig and Prof Dongliang Chao.

Established in 2012, the Lectureship recognises outstanding emerging investigators working in an energy research topic within the scope of Energy & Environmental Science, providing a platform to showcase their research to the wider scientific community. The EES Lectureship is awarded annually through a process whereby nominations of candidates are invited from our fantastic community.

Hanna Breunig is a Research Scientist and Deputy-Head of the Sustainable Energy and Environmental Systems Department at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Her group focuses on process design, modelling, and systems analysis of low Technology Readiness Level energy systems including hydrogen, energy storage, and negative emissions technologies.

Since 2022, Hanna has acted as co-Director of the multi-lab United States Department of Energy Hydrogen Materials Advanced Research Consortium (HyMARC), where she works closely with teams conducting material discovery and characterization to accelerate the selection and development of material-based storage solutions that can compliment or outcompete compressed and liquid hydrogen storage. She received her PhD from the University of California, Berkeley in Civil and Environmental Engineering (2015).

Read Hanna’s recent work in the journal:

Green steel: design and cost analysis of hydrogen-based direct iron reduction

Emerging concepts in intermediate carbon dioxide emplacement to support carbon dioxide removal

Technoeconomic analysis of metal–organic frameworks for bulk hydrogen transportation

Dongliang Chao is an Executive Director of the Centre for Aqueous Battery at Fudan University. Prof. Chao obtained his PhD from Nanyang Technological University (NTU, Singapore). He joined the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA, USA) in 2016 as a joint researcher. Dr Chao served as Research Fellow and senior researcher respectively, at NTU and The University of Adelaide (UoA, Australia).

Prof. Chao’s main research activity is high-energy aqueous batteries. He has published 1 authored book and >150 journal articles; 1/3 of them are ESI H.C. papers, with an H-index of 70 and citations over 22,000. His awards include Innovators Under 35 (MIT Technology Review), Shanghai S&T 35, Rising Star Australia, DECRA Fellow Award (Australian Research Council), and Global Highly Cited Researcher (2020–2023, Clarivate).

Read Dongliang’s recent work in the journal:

The origin of capacity fluctuation and rescue of dead Mn-based Zn–ion batteries: a Mn-based competitive capacity evolution protocol

Advanced in situ technology for Li/Na metal anodes: an in-depth mechanistic understanding

A scalable top-down strategy toward practical metrics of Ni–Zn aqueous batteries with total energy densities of 165 W h kg−1 and 506 W h L−1

The winners will each receive a £500 honorarium and will be given the opportunity to attend and present their research at a leading international conference. Nominations for the 2024 EES Lectureship will open later this year, and you can find out more about the EES Lectureship award and criteria on our website.

Many congratulations to our winners, and we hope that you enjoy reading their work.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)