Winners of the 2022 EES Lectureship: Dr Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena and Dr Hans-Georg Steinrück

The 2022 EES Lectureship has been jointly awarded to Dr Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena and Dr Hans-Georg Steinrück

Established in 2012, the Lectureship recognises outstanding emerging investigators working in an energy research topic within the scope of Energy & Environmental Science, providing a platform to showcase their research to the wider scientific community. The EES Lectureship is awarded annually through a process whereby nominations of candidates are invited from our fantastic community.

Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena is an Assistant Professor and the Goizueta Junior Faculty Chair in the School of Materials Science and Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His group focuses on understanding and control of crystallographic structure and effects on electronic dynamics at the nanoscale of low-cost semiconductors for optoelectronic applications.

Juan-Pablo’s group works on advanced deposition techniques, with emphasis on low-cost and high throughput, as well as advanced characterization methods that include synchrotron-based mapping and imaging approaches with nanoscale resolution. His research program at Georgia Tech has attracted funding from NASA, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and the Department of Defense, which fund cutting-edge research on new materials for energy harvesting and conversion.

His work has been cited over 30,000 times making him a top cited researcher as recognized by the Web of Science Group Highly Cited Researchers (since 2019) and Nature Index Leading early career researcher in materials science (2019).

Read Juan-Pablo’s recent work in the journal:

Identifying high-performance and durable methylammonium-free lead halide perovskites via high-throughput synthesis and characterization
Energy Environ. Sci., 2021,14, 6638-6654

The role of carbon-based materials in enhancing the stability of perovskite solar cells
Energy Environ. Sci., 2020,13, 1377-1407

Hans-Georg Steinrück is a Juniorprofessor (Assistant Professor) in the Department of Chemistry at Paderborn University. His research group focuses on application-oriented basic research in the fields of electrochemical energy storage and desalination, as well as on the development of methods for synchrotron X-ray research and electrochemistry.

He obtained his doctorate in Physics from the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg in 2015 and was a Postdoctoral Fellow and Associate Staff Scientist at SLAC National Laboratory from 2015 to 2020 before starting his group at Paderborn University in 2020.

Hans-Georg Steinrück’s scientific contributions include advancing the molecular level understanding of the formation and structure of self-assembled monolayers, electrochemical interfaces, ion transport in electrolytes, and battery processes, as well as developing novel synchrotron X-ray methodologies.

He received the 2019 William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award, the 2021 Paderborn University Research Award, the Hellmuth Fischer Medal 2022, and was elected member of the Young Academy of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts in 2023.

Read Hans-Georg’s recent work in the journal:

Concentration and velocity profiles in a polymeric lithium-ion battery electrolyte
Energy Environ. Sci., 2020,13, 4312-4321

The nanoscale structure of the electrolyte–metal oxide interface
Energy Environ. Sci., 2018,11, 594-602

The winners will each receive a £500 honorarium, will be given the opportunity to attend and present their research at a leading international conference, and will be invited to contribute a Review-type article to Energy & Environmental Science.

Nominations for the 2023 EES Lectureship will open later this year, and you can find out more about the EES Lectureship award and criteria on our website.

Congratulations to our winners, and we hope that you enjoy reading their work.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)