Celebrating our 2016 prize and award winners

Excellence doesn’t come in just one form. And neither does our recognition.

Prizes and awards 2016

Across the scientific community, talented groups and individuals are shaping the future of the chemical sciences.

For over 140 years, we’ve been acknowledging and celebrating that talent with our prizes and awards programme.

Our awards reflect the exceptional achievements and diverse nature of our community, across academia, education and industry. Winners have come from a vast range of specialisms, backgrounds, countries and communities. Many have gone on to be Nobel Laureates. All have proved that passion, excellence and dedication deserve recognition and reward.

In celebration of our 2016 prizes and awards, we have collected articles from across our journals to showcase some of the remarkable contributions made by this year’s winners.

All articles are free to access until 5th June 2016.

Access the full collection

Dr Robert Parker, Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry says:
“It is an honour to recognise the illustrious achievements of our prize and award winners in our 175th anniversary year.

“We were founded in 1841 by a group of academics, industrialists and doctors who understood the power of the chemical sciences to change our world for the better. Our winners share that vision and are advancing excellence in their fields, whether through innovative research or inspirational teaching and outreach.

“We are proud to celebrate and support the work of inspiring and influential individuals, whose work has the potential to improve so many lives.”

Did you know?

An incredible 47 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including Harry Kroto, Fred Sanger and Linus Pauling. Indeed, one of the 2012 Royal Society of Chemistry prize winners, Arieh Warshel, was awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

A full list of winners and more information about the Royal Society of Chemistry prizes and awards can be found at: rsc.li/awards-prizes-2016

Like what you read? Why not share it with your colleagues, using this convenient short link:



Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)