MedChemComm’s new Editorial Board member – Professor Koen Augustyns

Koen Augustyns obtained his Master and PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the KU Leuven, Belgium in 1988 and 1992 respectively. After postdoctoral stays at the University of Antwerp, Belgium and the University of Tübingen, Germany he was appointed as Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Antwerp, Belgium.

His research has resulted in 135 papers (2727 citations, h-index 30) and 12 patents in the field of medicinal chemistry, mostly focused on the design and development of enzyme inhibitors in the fields of oncology and infectious diseases. Recently he has also been active in the field of activity-based probes and bioorthogonal chemistry. So far, he has supervised 20 PhD students and is currently heading an international research group of 25 PhD students and postdoctoral scientists. He has delivered over 30 invited lectures at international symposia and acted as promoter on over 60 research projects.

He was chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences from 2007-2012 and is currently vice-dean of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences at the University of Antwerp. Since 2002, he is the President of the Medicinal and Bioorganic Chemistry Division of the Royal Flemish Chemical Society (KVCV) in Belgium and he serves the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) as Secretary (2009-2013), President-Elect (2014) and President (2015-2017). He is a member of the Commission on Innovation Policy of the Flemish Council for Science and Innovation, the Research Foundation Flanders and the Jury of the Prix Galien Belgium. He is and was a member of several international organizing committees of medicinal chemistry symposia, and was co-chair of the EFMC-International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry in 2010 in Brussels.

Recent Publication:

Selective inhibitors of fibroblast activation protein (FAP) with a xanthine scaffold
Koen Jansen, Hans De Winter, Leen Heirbaut, Jonathan D. Cheng, Jurgen Joossens, Anne-Marie Lambeir, Ingrid De Meester, Koen Augustyns and Pieter Van der Veken
DOI: 10.1039/C4MD00167B

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

One Response to “MedChemComm’s new Editorial Board member – Professor Koen Augustyns”

  1. […] Professor Koen Augustyns (University of Antwerp, Belgium) Dr Christopher Burns (Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Australia) Professor Andrea Cavalli (University of Bologna, Italy) Dr Mike Hann (GlaxoSmithKline, UK) Dr Yoshinori Ikeura (Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Ltd, Japan) […]

Leave a Reply