Lab on a Chip awards prestigious prizes at MicroTAS 2016

The µTAS 2016 Conference was held during 9-13th October in Dublin, Ireland. Sam Keltie and Maria Southall, Executive and Deputy Editors of Lab on a Chip, attended this conference and announced the prestigious Lab on a Chip awards which include the Pioneers of Miniaturization Lectureship (in partnership with Corning Inc), the Widmer Young Researcher Poster Prize, the Art in Science competition (in partnership with NIST) and the µTAS video competition (in partnership with Dolomite Microfluidics). The competition was tough but we are pleased to announce this year’s Prize Winners below.

“Pioneers of Miniaturization” Lectureship

Congratulations to all of our Prize Winners: Dr Daniel Irimia (top left), Vaibhav Jain (top right), Enrica Rollo (bottom right) and Adam Churchman (bottom right).

Dr Daniel Irimia (Massachusets General Hospital) was announced as the winner of the 11th “Pioneers of Miniaturization” Lectureship, sponsored by Lab on a Chip and Corning Inc and supported by the Chemical and Biological Microsystems Society (CBMS). The “Pioneers of Miniaturization” Lectureship rewards early to mid-career scientists who have made extraordinary or outstanding contributions to the understanding or development of miniaturised systems. Dr Daniel Irimia received a certificate and a monetary award from Po Ki Yuen (Corning Inc), and delivered a short lecture titled “The amazing neutrophil: unexpected insights from tiny devices” at the conference.

Art in Science Competition

Lab on a Chip and Darwin Reyes from the National Institute of Standards Technology (NIST) presented the Art in Science award to Vaibhav Jain, Purdue University. The award aims to highlight the aesthetic value in scientific illustrations while still conveying scientific merit. You can see his winning photograph “The Rising Sun” along with the runner ups on our Art in Science blog post.

µTAS Video Competition

Lab on a Chip and Dolomite Microfluidics announced Enrica Rollo (EPFL) as the winner of the 2016 µTAS Video Competition supported by the Chemical and Biological Microsystems Society (CBMS). µTAS participants were invited to submit short videos with a scientific or educational focus.The winners baked a micropillar chocolate cake! The full video can be viewed on our YouTube channel along with the runner up video “Keep calm and keep’em separated” by Burcu Gumuscu (University of Twente). Mark Gilligan of Dolomite presented the winner with a voucher for Dolomite equipment.

Widmer Young Researcher Poster Prize

The Widmer Young Researcher Poster Prize was awarded to Adam Churchman, PhD student at Leeds University. His poster highlighted his research on the formation of oil layer inside microbubbles through single step microfluidics.

Also of interest: Browse through our collection of archived µTAS Abstracts online!

Congratulations to all the winners at the conference! We look forward to seeing you at µTAS 2017 in Savannah, Georgia.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)