Professor Frank Vanhaecke wins Theophilus Redwood Prize

Professor Frank Vanhaecke

Congratulations to Frank Vanhaecke, JAAS Editorial Board Member, who has won the 2023 Analytical Science open Prize: Theophilus Redwood Prize for the development of inductively coupled plasma-mass spectrometry (ICP-MS) based methodologies for elemental, isotopic and single-event analysis.

Frank Vanhaecke received a PhD from Ghent University in 1992. He carried out postdoctoral research at Ghent University and at the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany. Currently, he is Senior Full Professor in Analytical Chemistry at Ghent University, where he also leads the ‘Atomic & Mass Spectrometry – A&MS’ research group that is specialized in the determination, speciation and isotopic analysis of (ultra)trace elements via ICP-mass spectrometry (ICP-MS). His group studies fundamentally-oriented aspects of the technique and develops methods for solving challenging scientific problems in interdisciplinary contexts. Specific topics of research include 2-D and 3-D elemental mapping by means of laser ablation (LA) – ICP-MS, high-precision isotopic analysis using multi-collector ICP-MS and single-event (single-particle and single-cell) ICP-MS. Frank is (co)author of more than 400 papers in peer-reviewed journals. In 2011, he received a ‘European Plasma Spectrochemistry Award’, in 2013, he was designated ‘Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy – SAS’ and in 2017, he received the ‘Lester Strock Award’ from SAS. Frank has been the chair of the editorial board of JAAS from June 2012 to June 2016 and has returned as a board member in 2020.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)