Congratulations to the ICBIC-19 Poster Prize Winners!

The 19th International Conference on Biological Inorganic Chemistry (ICBIC-19) took place in Interlaken, Switzerland on 11-16 August, 2019. This interdisciplinary event is known to attract scientists from all over the world – established group leaders as well as young researchers, students and emeriti members. The scientific program included several parallel sessions as well as different categories of presentations, which allowed a large number of the attendees to present their recent work and discuss the latest developments in all fields at the interface between Inorganic Chemistry and the Life Sciences.

Plenary lecturers included Paul David Becker (BSP), Peng Chen (Peking University), Debbie Crans (Colorado State University), Luisa de Cola (University of Strasbourg), Abhishek Dey (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science), Katherine Franz (Duke University), Bernhard Keppler (University of Vienna), Mi Hee Lim (KAIST), Alejandro Vila (National University of Rosario) and Paul Walton (University of York).

For more information regarding the programme, award winners, organizing committee and sponsors can be found on the ICBIC-19 website.

This year there were 9 poster prizes up for grabs with each winner receiving a book published by the RSC.


Congratulations go to:


Sophie Bennett, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
“Investigating the Iron Sulfur Cluster (Isc) Assembly System Using Non-Denaturing Electrospray Ionisation Mass Spectrometry”

George Biggs, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
“Ligand Rearrangement in Ru(II) Arene Complexes Coordinating to Simple Proteins”

Niko Jonasson, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Germany
“A Functional Iron(IV)-oxo Model Complex Showing Activity Reminiscent of TET Enzymes”

Di Hu, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
“Integrative Transcriptome and Proteome Analysis Identifies Anti-Tumor Gold(III) Porphyrins as Aminopeptidase Inhibitor”

Goutam Mukherjee, Heidelberg University, Germany
“How Does CYP Sequence Affect CYP:CPR Complexation in a Phospholipid Bilayer and the Transfer of Electrons?”

Jiyeon Han, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea
“Modifications of Metal-Bound Amyloidogenic Peptides by a Chemical Modulator”

Elizabeth Hunsaker, Duke University, United States of America
“Fungal Pathogen Candida Albicans Reprioritizes Metal Handling During Fluconazole Stress”

Rachael Fay, University of Zurich, Switzerland
“Photochemical Conjugation of HBED-CC-ArN3 to MetMAb for PET Imaging of c-MET Receptor Expression”

Lukas Stratmann, TU Dortmund, Germany
“Paramagnetic Metal-Tetrads in Higher-order DNA G-Quadruplex Structures as EPR-Active Probes for Distance Measurements and Structure Elucidation”


ICBIC-19 Poster Prize winners

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)