Dalton Transactions Lectures at the University of California, Berkeley 2014

The 2013 Dalton Transactions Lecture awardees delivered their presentations at UC Berkeley last month. Each awardee is provided with an honorarium and a commemorative plaque. 

Trevor Hayton Professor Trevor Hayton (UCSB) gave the annual Dalton Transactions Lecture, which is awarded to an exceptional young inorganic chemist in the Americas each year. Previous recipients are:

2012   Teri Odom (Northwestern University)
2011    Daniel Gamelin (U Washington)
2010    Paul Chirik (Princeton University)
2009    Francois Gabbai (Texas A & M University)
2008    Dan Mindiola (Indiana University)
2007    Geoff Coates (Cornell University)
2006    John Hartwig (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
2005    Kit Cummins (MIT)

Professor Hayton has rapidly established himself as a leader in synthetic inorganic chemistry, focusing on actinides and bioinorganic systems. His lecture focused on the synthesis and reactivity of actinide complexes with chalcogenide ligands. 

Professor Hayton received his B.Sc. in Chemistry from the University of British Columbia, whereupon he began his Ph.D. research, also at UBC, under the direction of Peter Legzdins. After graduating in 2003, he began a postdoctoral fellowship at Los Alamos National Laboratory before joining the faculty at University of California, Santa Barbara in 2003.

Phillip Power The inaugural Dalton Transactions Distinguished Lecture was given on February 7 by Professor Phil Power of UC Davis. Professor Power is a world-renowned expert in main group chemistry. His Dalton Transactions Lecture focused on the preparation and structure of low-coordinate main group compounds and their reactivity towards small molecules such as dihydrogen and ethene. 

Professor Power received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Dublin, Ireland, and his doctorate from the University of Sussex; the latter under the supervision of Mike Lappert. He carried out postdoctoral research at Stanford University before joining the faculty at UC Davis in 1980. He was award the Royal Society of Chemistry Mond Medal in 2005 and elected Fellow of the Royal Society in the same year. 

 Congratulations to Professors Hayton and Power for their awards!

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

Leave a Reply