ABS Trust: Gordon F. Kirkbright and Edward Steers Bursary Awards, 2023

The Association of British Spectroscopists Trust (ABS Trust) invite applications for both the 2023 Gordon Kirkbright Bursary and the 2023 Edward Steers Bursary. 

The Gordon F. Kirkbright bursary award is a prestigious annual award that assists a promising early career scientists of any nation to attend a recognised scientific meeting or visit a place of learning. The fund for this bursary was established in 1985 as a memorial to Professor Gordon Kirkbright in recognition of his contributions to analytical spectroscopy and to science in general.

Owing to the generosity of an ABS former trustee, an eminent atomic spectroscopist, Professor Edward B.M. Steers, the ABS Trust are now able to award an annual Edward Steers bursary, in addition to the long standing Gordon Kirkbright bursary, to similarly assist a promising early scientist engaged in or utilising analytical spectroscopic techniques.

The ABS Trust defines early career as being either a student, or an employee in a non-tenured academic post or in industry, within 5 years of award of PhD excluding career breaks. The same conditions apply to each bursary.

Although both funds are administered by the ABS Trust, the Kirkbright award is not restricted to spectroscopists, but is open to all involved with or utilising analytical science-based techniques.

Applicants to complete the following online form by the deadline for completion is 30th November 2023.

Visit the ABS Trust website for more details or contact abstrustuk@gmail.com with any questions

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)