Professor Steven Ley joins the Reaction Chemistry & Engineering Editorial Board

Steven LeyWe are excited to announce that Professor Steven Ley has been appointed to the Reaction Chemistry & Engineering Editorial Board.

Steven Ley is Director of Research in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Cambridge, UK, and a Reaction Chemistry & Engineering Editorial Board member. A significant thread of his organic chemistry research targets the development of new sustainable chemical methodologies with the goal of improving chemical manufacture and synthesis, in particular using flow methodology. Read his latest article on the deca-gram scale synthesis of enantiopure (R)-(+)-3-methyl-6-isopropenyl-cyclohept-3-enone-1 in Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry:

A practical deca-gram scale ring expansion of (R)-(−)-carvone to (R)-(+)-3-methyl-6-isopropenyl-cyclohept-3-enone-1, Leandro de C. Alves, André L. Desiderá, Kleber T. de Oliveira, Sean Newton, Steven V. Ley and Timothy J. Brocksom, Org. Biomol. Chem., 2015, 13, 7633–7642.

Professor Ley is a previous president of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2000–2002), and has been awarded over 40 prizes and awards to mark his scientific achievements, including the 2014 IUPAC-Thales Nano Prize in Flow Chemistry which in 2012 was awarded to Klavs Jensen, Reaction Chemistry & Engineering Editorial Board Chair.

To keep up with the news from Reaction Chemistry & Engineering, including the latest Editorial Board appointments, be sure to sign up to our e-alerts and follow us on Twitter. Submit your work here.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)