2011 R&D100 Award Winners

R&D Magazine recently announced the 2011 R&D100 award winners, and this year’s awardees included several names familiar to JAAS readers.  The “Array Detection Technology for Mass Spectrometry” was identified as one of the 100 most influential technological achievements/products of the year.

The award-winning technology comes from a collaboration between government, academic, and private sector entities:

  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratories (Charles Barinaga and David Koppenaal)
  • Indiana University (Gary Hieftje, James Barnes, Greg Shilling, Jeremy Felton, and Steven Ray)
  • University of Arizona (M. Bonner Denton and Roger Sperline), Imager Laboratories (Gene Atlas)
  • SPECTRO Analytical Instruments/Ametek (Dirk Ardelt)

The array detector (also known as the Focal Plane Camera) is a solid-state monolithic integrated circuit device designed specifically as adetector for mass spectrometry. It was first employed for atomic mass spectrometry (ICP-MS), but has more recently found other uses in ion mobility spectrometry and molecular mass spectrometry.  A commercial version of the detector can be found in the new SPECTRO MS instrument.

Since 1963, the R&D 100 Awards have identified revolutionary technologies newly introduced to the market.  The Awards, widely recognized as the “Oscars of Innovation”, identifies and celebrates the top high technology products of the year.

More information can be found here.

Congratulations award winners!

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

Leave a Reply