1st Chemistry in Energy Conference

John Irvine was awarded with the 2015 RSC Sustainable Energy Award

The Energy Sector interest group of the Royal Society of Chemistry successfully organised the 1st Chemistry in Energy conference. This event was hosted at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland, on 20th-22nd July 2015.

During the conference, Professor John Irvine (St Andrew’s University) was presented as the winner of the 2015 Sustainable Energy Award. This prestigious RSC Award is given for the contributions of chemical sciences to sustainable energy, including development or understanding of materials and processes and the improvement of existing technologies through the application of the chemical sciences.

We would like to congratulate John on his award and thank him for his outstanding and sustained contributions to low carbon energy generation, in particular the development of electrode materials for solid oxide fuel cells.

He was presented with his medal by Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer (Energy Sector representative) and gave his inaugural award lecture titled “Low carbon energy generation and the development of electrode materials for solid oxide fuel cells” as part of a special session during the conference.

The picture shows Cesar Palmero, (RSC Development Editor), John Irvine (2015 Sustainable
Energy Award Winner) and Mercedes Maroto-Valer (RSC Energy Sector Representative)

Take a look at some of the latest publications by Professor John Irvine:

Guan Zhang, Chengsheng Ni, Lingjuan Liu, Guixia Zhao, Federica Fina and John T. S. Irvine
J. Mater. Chem. A, 2015,3, 15413-15419

Nano-composite structural Ni–Sn alloy anodes for high performance and durability of direct methane-fueled SOFCs
Jae-ha Myung, Sun-Dong Kim, Tae Ho Shin, Daehee Lee, John T. S. Irvine, Jooho Moon and Sang-Hoon Hyun
J. Mater. Chem. A, 2015,3, 13801-13806

Hierarchically nanoporous La1.7Ca0.3CuO4−δ and La1.7Ca0.3NixCu1−xO4−δ (0.25 ≤ x ≤ 0.75) as potential cathode materials for IT-SOFCs
Xiubing Huang, Tae Ho Shin, Jun Zhou and John T. S. Irvine
J. Mater. Chem. A, 2015,3, 13468-13475

Oxygen storage capacity and thermal stability of the CuMnO2–CeO2 composite system
Xiubing Huang, Chengsheng Ni, Guixia Zhao and John T. S. Irvine
J. Mater. Chem. A, 2015,3, 12958-12964


Additionally, ES: Processes & Impacts is delighted to announce a high profile web collection on chemistry in energy, in conjunction with the organisers of this 1st Chemistry in Energy conference. Authors of accepted conference presentations (oral and poster) are invited to submit a full paper for possible inclusion in this web collection.

All manuscripts must fit within the scope of the journal to be considered for the collection and will be refereed in accordance to the standard procedures of Environmental Science: Processes & Impacts. In this respect, invited articles will be treated in the same way as regular submissions to the journal.

The deadline for receipt of manuscripts for this themed is 30 September 2015. Please feel free to get in touch with the editorial office at ESPI-RSC@rsc.org if you have any questions about this collection.


RSC awards and prizes recognise excellence across the chemical sciences. Why not nominate someone?
Nominations for 2016 open on the 1st October 2015.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)