Celebrating the prize winners at the 9th Singapore International Chemical Conference

Many congratulations to the following prize winners at the 9th Singapore International Chemical Conference (SICC-9) held on 11-14th December 2016:

Materials Horizons Poster Prize

Xiaoqing Wang (Nanyang Technological University) – Pivotal Role of Water in Terminating Enzymatic Function: A Density Functional Theory Study of the Mechanism-Based Inactivation of Cytochromes P450

Catalysis Science & Technology Poster Prize

Binh Khanh Mai (Nanyang Technological University) – Mechanistic Insight into the Grapefruit Juice Effect on Cytochrome P450: An ONIOM Approach

Nanoscale Horizons Poster Prize

Kangyi Zhang (Institute of Materials Engineering, A*STAR) – Nanodiamond-Embedded Polymeric Thermogels For Tissue Engineering and Consumer Care Applications

Kangyi Zhang is also a Nanoscale Horizons Community Board member. (http://blogs.rsc.org/nh/2016/11/10/introducing-the-nanoscale-horizons-community-board/)

Energy & Environmental Science Poster Prize

Kai Xu (Nanyang Technological University) – The Reaction Mechanism of Mo-Cu Carbon Monoxide Dehydrogenase: A QM/MM Computational Study

Molecular Systems Design & Engineering Poster Prizes

Cally Owh (Institute of Materials Engineering, A*STAR) – A Thixotropic Polyglycerol Sebacate-Based Supramolecular Hydrogel as an Injectable Drug Delivery Matrix

Zeng Ping Liu (National University of Singapore) – A novel vitreous substitute candidate of injectable thermosensitive hydrogels for vireo-retinal surgery

Poster prize winners  from top left: Xiaoqing Wang (Nanyang Technological University), Binh Khanh Mai (Nanyang Technological University), Kangyi Zhang (Institute of Materials Engineering, A*STAR). From bottom left: Cally Owh (Institute of Materials Engineering, A*STAR), Zeng Ping Liu (National University of Singapore), Kai Xu (Nanyang Technological University).

Royal Society of Chemistry Books Prize

Dr. Zibiao Li was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Book Prize for presenting the Best Technical Paper at the symposium. His paper on “Stereocomplex Stimulated High Performance PLA and Biomedical Applications” was judged to have interesting potential for biomedical applications and was a deserving winner of this prize.


We would also like to thank all the judges: Dr Rajamani Lakshminarayanan (Singapore Eye Research Institute), Assistant Professor Navin Kumar Verma (Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Nanyang Technological University) and Associate Professor Yun-long Wu (Xiamen University) for their efforts.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

Leave a Reply